I must confess that I was never much interested in graphs and statistics because I’ve always found them somewhat necessary but boring, dull, static, not to say that they’ve always seemed to lack what we call usability after all.

For my surprise, a couple of years ago I was zapping some content on TED when I found this great talk by doctor and researcher Hans Rosling on his new data presentation software which is really amazing (it’s a 20 minute video but I strongly recommend you take the time to watch it whenever you get a chance).

I’ve shared the link with many friends and even talked about it during my classes at university, but since then, no other guru had really grabbed my attention until last week when the December issue of Yorokobu magazine landed on my desk. A two-page interview with London based writer, designer and author David McCandless, who recently launched his book The Visual Miscellaneum, a colourful guide that help readers like me make sense of the countless statistics and random facts that constantly bombard us.

According to David, people are gradually passing from text to images when consuming information especially in a media saturated landscape we are experimenting today. McCandless makes use of his knowledge in usability – result of years of experience in web design – to condensate his investigations in clear, concise and neat graphs.

Besides collaborating with The Guardian and Wired, David also shares his work in his blog Information is Beautiful as well as his Flickr, where you can find all kinds of information varying from the probabilities of dying in a plane accident to the hierarchy of digital distractions.

I’ve selected some of this work here – truly wish I could use some of his talent when drafting my next proposal or results report

from @vaneribeiro

Some interesting stats about the much-trumpeted Twitter community – visualized!

  

 

Billions spent on this. Billions spent on that. What does it all look like?

A concept-map exploring the Left vs Right political spectrum. A collaboration between David McCandless and information artist Stefanie Posavec.

